A LADYBUG Birthday

Ladybug Party CoverMiss Loodle turned FOUR earlier this month and I can’t quite wrap my head around the fact that my second child is already that “old”.  The saying that it goes too fast?  It really, really does!

Loodle told me to surprise her with the theme for her party and so I choose Ladybugs.  Apparently it was a good choice because two days before her party she came running to me to tell me that “I don’t’ want a surprise – I want a LADYBUG party!”  To which I could reply, “Surprise – that’s what I had been planning!”  She then proceeded to tell me how we’re the “perfect party team” – my precious little girl:)

I knew I didn’t have the time or energy to go all-out on the decorations and stuff.  We had just found out the gender of baby #4 earlier in the week, celebrated the 4th of July, and then had her party that weekend.  The timing didn’t lend itself to an elaborate spread, cake, etc.

So, with VERY LITTLE pre-planning (i.e. I was shopping for supplies late afternoon the day before without a plan– whoops) here is what I came up with:

Ladybug Birthday TablePretty simple spread – and very inexpensive…total cost outside of presents?  About $20 including the cake!  I used two black plastic tablecloths for the backdrop.  I’d LOVE to have better backdrops but this room has wood paneling that does not compliment most party set-ups.  The problem with using the plastic tablecloths is the creases.  Can you iron them out?  I don’t know – I didn’t have the nerve to try.  One day we’ll remove the paneling which will give me more options but its low on the priority list.  Perhaps some fabric would have been a better choice.

The table itself was just a red plastic tablecloth.  I added multiple cirlces out of black poster board to create the spotted effect.

For the sign I opted against the “enclosed” or “contained” signs I’ve done previously (like here ) and went with lettering taped directly to the backdrop.  The spotted paper was on sale for 22 cents a page – yeah!  I added the touch of green behind each letter to tie in with the cute jewelry holder I’d found at Target.  Loodle now has that jewelry holder AND the ladybug sign on the shelf above her bed.  She mentions them frequently which makes me smile – nothing touches a mommy’s heart like knowing her efforts (big or small) have been well-received (dare I say cherished?  At least in the last week:)

Ladybug Birthday FrameThe birthday frame has become a family tradition.  They get displayed throughout the year over our computer desk.  I think its a fun way to remind us about each of their special day.  I L-O-V-E this picture of Loodle modeling her new swimsuit for a picture I sent to her daddy.  And its a ladybug swimsuit – even better!

The Ladybug CakeEVERY party I say I’m going to spend more time on the cake!  AND, every party I end up frosting the cake the hour before the party is about to start.  Oh well, the kids are still young enough where they don’t notice the obviously hurried end result.  I think this is a really cute concept, just very mediocre execution.  The funniest part to me is the antennas…I thought I had some pipecleaners around but couldn’t find them so ended up grabbing some Bendaroos.  The things us parents do/think of to make our kiddos happy!

Ladybug Wrapping PaperFor some reason I assumed ladybug wrapping paper would be easy to find.  And of course it might have been if I’d gone shopping prior to the day before.  What I was able to find was this super cute polka dot paper.  Give me a Sharpie and there you go – one little Ladybug (with FOUR spots, of course!)

Last but not least the little lady herself – sporting a mild shiner caused by Little Man a few nights prior.  Apparently we DID need to specify that MegaBlocks were NOT supposed to be used as weapons.

Loodle (aka Love Bug)

I had so much fun putting this party together – even if it was the day before:)  So, what do you think??

Blue Skies & Blessings, Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot GiraffeGinger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFabDIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee CraftsGingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sew Much Ado, Easy Living Mom, Fluster Buster, Watch Out, Martha!, Say Not Sweet Anne, Ladybug Blessings, Our Delightful Home, Wednesday Whatsits, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, The Frugal Girls, Make Along Monday

One thought on “A LADYBUG Birthday

Leave a Reply

