{10 Minute} Buttery Fish Fillets

Buttery Fish Fillets

So, this is a recipe I grew up on and remember always loving.  Imagine my surprise when I asked my mom for the recipe – and it came from some  microwave cookbook from the late 70’s, early 80’s.  You know the type I’m talking about…spiral bound, avocado green back, front cover where every dish is in a mustard colored baking dish!

I don’t use the microwave often when I cook but figured I’d call it an “everything in moderation” sort of meal because this makes such a YUMMY dish with very little effort and time.  I’m sure you could do this in the oven as well – it’d be worth giving it a try if you don’t use the microwave for any meal prep.

I adapted the original recipe to my family’s preferences.  D doesn’t like mushrooms so I omitted them but it was delicious with them (as far as I can remember) so if no one in your family objects I’d add them back in – 1/2 cup of sliced fresh mushrooms +/-.  I also increased the butter, changed the seasonings slightly, etc.

I can’t say enough about this recipe – so simple, really delicious, and quick!!  I have made fresh rice to serve with it but this would be a great recipe to use left-over rice because the “sauce” is just scrumptious.

Buttery Fish Fillets Recipe

Want to print the recipe?  Just click on the image above and it should print nicely on 8 x 11 paper.

My kids aren’t huge fish people (except salmon and fish sticks, imagine?!?) but will eat some of the fish with this recipe.  They TEAR into the rice with the “sauce” though.  The rest of my family prefers this with pollock vs. tilapia – the comment was that the tilapia was too “fishy”.  Works for me because around here I can find pollock for less.

Adding fresh cracked pepper on top makes it even better.  I – literally – could eat this once a week.  In deference to my husband who likes it but prefers other meats I will get this on the menu rotation every month or so.  Although I’m thinking it’d be perfect for daycare…

Thanks for taking a look!  As always, let me know if you give it a try.

Blue Skies & Blessings, Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot GiraffeGinger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFabDIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee CraftsGingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sew Much Ado, Easy Living Mom, Fluster Buster, Watch Out, Martha!, Say Not Sweet Anne, Ladybug Blessings, Our Delightful Home, Wednesday Whatsits, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, The Frugal Girls

2 thoughts on “{10 Minute} Buttery Fish Fillets

Leave a Reply

