Rainbow Wreath {An Upcycled Tutu}

Rainbow Wreath

Last  October Miss Silly turned 5 and we celebrated with her first friends partyRAINBOWS was the theme – so fun, so colorful…I had a blast coming up with the decorations.

My favorite part – hands down – was the Rainbow of Tutus.  Who can resist this sort of cuteness??

Rainbow of GirlsEach of the party guests got to take their tutu as a “party favor”.

Fast forward 8 months and this is how I found Miss Silly’s tutu…

Tutu messI’d been wanting to make something for the girls door and this “abandoned”, mess of a tutu seemed like the perfect material.

I used a $1 pool noodle to make the circle.  After cutting off the ends  – due to Little Man’s taste for foam, eck! – I just taped the ends together with duct tape.  I “placed” the tulle like I did when making the tutus – no trimming required even!

Making the sign was really easy – and SO our family since I refer to the girls as “Girlies” ALL. THE. TIME.  I purchased a {super girly, shimmery, fantabulous} piece of scrapbook paper, mounted it to cardboard, added two eye hooks, and then mod podged the letters (made from paper scraps I had on hand from making the Rainbow Birthday Cakes).  I hung it using some beading wire strung up with some equally shimmery opal-like beads (not showing up well in the picture).

The Girlies

“The” is offset to allow me to add the word “BIG” if New Baby is another little lady;)

I hung the wreath using some left-over rainbow ribbon – also from the party.

All together cost?  $3 total for the scrapbook paper and the pool noodle.  EVERYTHING else was either scraps/left-overs from previous projects or upcycled from the birthday party stuff.  Not bad, right??

I took the pictures in our room because the upstairs hallway is pretty dark but this looks GREAT on the girls bedroom door.  The pop of color(s) definitely livens up the passageway!!

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue Skies & Blessings, Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot GiraffeGinger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFabDIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee CraftsGingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sew Much Ado, Easy Living Mom, Fluster Buster, Watch Out, Martha!, Say Not Sweet Anne, Ladybug Blessings, Our Delightful Home, Wednesday Whatsits, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, The Frugal Girls, Make Along Monday

5 thoughts on “Rainbow Wreath {An Upcycled Tutu}

  1. Robin says:

    I love the idea of using tutu’s as a party favor. I love the picture of them all lined up. Thanks for stopping by and linking up to Fluster Buster’s Creative Muster Party! Looking forward to seeing what you’re going to link up next week.

    Robin @ Fluster Buster

Leave a Reply

