Storing & Organizing Spices: Tips & Tricks (On the cheap!!)

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA As I mentioned when I showed you my Lazy Susan re-org, I have been an organizing machine lately.

Another area of frustration on my end?  Our spice/baking/misc. cupboard!

We’ve tried a number of spice container storage solutions – stacking shelves, turn-table, etc.  The problem with all of them was that we are SO NOT THE TYPE to line up our spices neatly with the labels facing out.  We’re more of the toss-and-go sort of cooks:)

My solution?  But them in bins, of course!  My husband thinks I’m bin obsessed…and I’m starting to agree:)

So, here was the before:

Spice Cab BEFORE

I LOVE these cupboards because of the added fold-out storage space but with stuff everywhere, things piled in – YUCK!  Plus, I was always moving stuff around so D could NEVER find anything.  Pretty frustrating for a man who enjoys cooking.

The new-and-improved version:  (actually a different cupboard but same layout:)

Spice Cabinet AFTER

We buy some basic spices in larger containers at Sam’s Club.  These are in the white-lidded jars in front.  For the other spices I’ve put them in bins.  I added the labels on top to make grabbing them easy and quick.  Might seem like overkill, but it takes all of 30 seconds to add the label and makes it so much more enjoyable to use.  I had them without for a while and pulling out every single container looking for XYZ spice (which of course is ALWAYS the last one, right??) was extremely tedious.

I also added bins for what I called “Seasoning Liquids” – i.e. honey, liquid smoke, Tabasco, agave, etc. – and “Baking Condiments” – i.e. baking chips, marshmallows, etc.  Not quite sure if the labels are accurate descriptions but I know what they mean and D says he could figure it out so I’m calling it good:)  Like with the labels in the Lazy Susan re-org these labels were made using leftover scrapbook paper, my printer, and my laminator.  

Tips & Tricks:

  1. Use bins – it keeps all the spices together AND you can just toss them in.  No fastidious placement required.
  2. Label the top of the spice containers.  Saves time (and sanity:)  If you don’t have a label-maker, use small pieces of masking tape and hand-write the spice names.
  3. Separate large and small spice containers.  Assuming you have plenty of spices in your cabinet this is an easy way to divide them up.
  4. Use consistent containers for any spices you buy in bulk.  They look nicer and are easier to organize.
  5. Label your bins – it saves time when cooking.

These cupboards are so nice to open know…everything has a place.  An added bonus?  We aren’t buying duplicates because we think we’re out of something and then find it stashed somewhere else later on.

Any creative ways you store your spices and seasonings?  I always love hearing what works for others!

Blue Skies and Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk, Gingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sew Much Ado, Easy Living Mom, Fluster Buster

4 thoughts on “Storing & Organizing Spices: Tips & Tricks (On the cheap!!)

Leave a Reply

