Rainbow Birthday Cake(s)

Miss Silly turned 5 at the beginning of October – it was a BIG deal for her (and me:) because it was her first “friends party”.  It was soo fun for her to have other little girls attend for the first time – especially since they made A Rainbow of Tutus!  How cute is that??  (Miss Yellow was sick – poor thing:( )

For the cake I had been really indecisive.  There are so many GORGEOUS. DELICIOUS, & ADORABLE variations  of the “Rainbow Cake” – in layers, in jars, etc.  BUT, I wanted to surprise Miss Silly which ruled out any time intensive baking.  Also, the little miss couldn’t decide on flavor for her cake – strawberry or chocolate?  I decided to roll with the indecisiveness and make TWO cakes…they became the “clouds”.

Rainbow cakes

I used simple box cakes baked in glass bowls and then did a crumb coat with vanilla frosting.  To get the cloud look I resorted to the canned (??) frosting from the store.  I was uncertain about my ability to create a “fluffy” appearance and knew I wouldn’t have time for a redo.  Since I was applying the frosting 15 minutes before the party started I’d say this short-cut was a good choice:)

I “connected” the clouds with a rainbow, of course!!  The rainbow was made using scrapbook paper.  $5 for the book – which was used for other party decorations and I still have some – can’t beat that!!  I free-handed (is that a word?) the arches (1/2 of the rainbow per sheet) and adhered the rainbow to cardboard with “legs” that were pushed into the cake.  To cover the center seam between the two halves of the rainbow I created the cloud and added the “5”.

I was planning to post a full wrap-up of her party but keep getting sucked into all these holiday crafts – between Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas there’s SO MUCH fun stuff to make October – December, right?  I think I might have to settle for these individual posts:)  Feel free to check out the Rainbow Cocktails too!  They were the surprise hit of the party.

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue Skies and Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk, Gingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple

 

5 thoughts on “Rainbow Birthday Cake(s)

  1. Toni says:

    Super cute, and such a nice surprise that you made the 2 sides different flavors! I just made a similar cake for my daughter’s 3rd My Little Pony birthday, but I wasn’t smart enough to make the rainbow out of paper instead of icing. (major duh moment)

Leave a Reply

