Nursery Wall Lattice Treatment

So, in reality this is a “flashback” as I put this on the wall of Miss Silly’s nursery and she just turned 5 in October!

A little back-story…I am a tom-boy through and through.  I have NEVER been in to girly things – in fact I can say I detested most things girly for a long, long, LONG time.

Then I was pregnant and found out I was having a girl.  If you’d known me you probably would have thought a gender-neutral (or at least gender-subtle:) nursery.

AND YOU WOULD HAVE BEEN WRONG!!

As soon as we found out I was pregnant with a girl I did two things:

  1. Bought a bright pink, super fluffy snowsuit (on clearance – it was June:)
  2. Decided her nursery was “going girly”.

D choose the wall color – a beautiful lavender!  I did the rest… I don’t really remember how I thought of the lattice – probably just saw it at one of the home improvement stores that summer.  I KNOW it was inexpensive ($7 +/-).

I added some fake flowers, painted some cut-out elephants (to coordinate with her Amy Coe Mod Elephant bedding) and clothes pins, added some pictures, AND there you have it – really fun nursery wall treatment.

Lattice Details FINAL

I wanted the lattice off the wall to allow me to put things through it but also to create a reveal and shadow lines.  It turned out great.  I would have left it up for Loodle but felt the need to “redo” the nursery (on a tight budget of course) for each little addition.  That was actually why I had selected the elephant bedding – I’d thought I’d reuse it if we had a boy.  But no, new nursery for Little Man too:)

I would show more pics of her nursery but it was teeny tiny so the only photos I have are detail shots taken quickly on the day we were redecorating for the soon-to-be-born Loodle.

It’s making me nostalgic looking at the pictures.  Only with the first did I get to sit for long periods of time in the never-been-used nursery and dream about the future little one (while folding little bitty clothes).

And because she was the inspiration for it all and the girl of my dreams, a cute collage of my Miss Silly.  Already five – I’m STILL amazed!!

By the way…the bright pink, super fluffy snowsuit?  She was too big for it by the time it was cold enough to wear it.  I did squish her into it one time just for the sake of seeing it but otherwise it hung in her closet:)

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue Skies & Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk, Gingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger

4 thoughts on “Nursery Wall Lattice Treatment

Leave a Reply

