{Upcycled} Halloween Pendant Banner

I recently received a nylon drawstring backpack (i.e. a swim bag) from a local organization I belong to.  The dilemma?  We wouldn’t use it but giving it away seemed pointless.  I didn’t think anyone at a second-hand store would buy it since it had the organization’s name on it.  I, as I often do, just stuck it in our closet figuring I’d give it away eventually.  Two days later I had an “ah-ha” moment – it’s bright orange, why not turn it into a Halloween craft?  I LOVE UPCYCLING!!!

Its was a nylon bag so I opted to use marker on it vs. applique.  Here’s how it was made:

A couple tips:

  • I ended up filling in the shapes on the “wrong side” (or back) as well as the front.  This made the figures more pronounced and finished looking.
  • The iron-on fusible adhesive didn’t hold as well as I liked so I secured with some double-sided tape in a couple locations.  I think this was “user error” as I was watching “The Walking Dead” and probably was a wee bit distracted while ironing:)

Total cost – $5 (because I didn’t have any markers with good tips at home AND I impulse bought the Silver Sharpies).  Otherwise, $0…can’t beat that.  I think its pretty cute.  What about you?

Thanks for stopping by.  Only 13 nights until Halloween!!!

Blue Skies & Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog

3 thoughts on “{Upcycled} Halloween Pendant Banner

Leave a Reply

