Storing & Freezing BACON!!

Storing & Freezing BaconFirst off – a hearty apology to any vegans/vegetarians out there for the picture.  Pictures of raw meat are not my thing and I L-O-V-E bacon.

We are addicted to bacon around here.  In fact, we buy it in bulk, preferring the thick cut options.

I’ve learned that we need to ration or D and I would eat an entire pound between us!  I saw this tip in a magazine  – my guess is Cooks Illustrated although I don’t remember for sure.

How to Store & Freeze Bacon

  1. Roll bacon (full slices) and place on baking sheet.
  2. Freeze until bacon is firm.  I typically just leave it until the next day.
  3. Store rolls in plastic bag in freezer.

Bacon Rolls

This works great for us…I can pull out only what I need so our “bacon-dollars” are stretched as far as possible.  I thaw mine in the fridge for just a few hours before using.

I’ve never had a problem with freezer burn BUT we easily eat the three pounds that come in our bulk package within 1 1/2 to 2 months.  You might need to wrap the rolls in plastic wrap if they’ll be frozen longer.

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue Skies & Blessings, Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk, Gingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You, Homemade Ginger, Project Inspire, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Sew Much Ado, Easy Living Mom, Fluster Buster

7 thoughts on “Storing & Freezing BACON!!

  1. What’s your preferred cooking method? I’ve started doing just a few strips in the George Forman grill. Works well.

  2. You had me at bacon. I don’t buy it very often because we tend to cook all of it all at once. I want to buy the big package now and try this. Thanks for the idea! I found you via Lil Luna linky.
    ps. I woul love for you to check out my cleaning blog.

  3. Pingback: Technique on Storing and Freezing Bacon

  4. I put paper towels in a jelly roll pan and a cooling rack on top of that. You can lay out about 1 lb of bacon on that. Put that in a 400 degree oven and cook till the edges brown. The paper towels keep the grease from smoking while you cook.

Leave a Reply

