A RAINBOW of Tutus

Miss Silly turned 5 at the beginning of October – it was a BIG deal for her (and me:) because it was her first “friends party”.  Her previous birthdays were family-only and  D’s family live too far away to drive for a kid’s party.  That meant her parties up until this year have just been our immediate family, her aunt and uncle (my younger brother), and her grandpa and grandma.  Imagine how fun it was for her to have other little girls for the first time – the excitement was contagious!!

I knew I was going to make a rainbow tutu for Miss Silly – how could I not??  Imagine my excitement while standing at Hobby Lobby when I realized that a) there were 6 little girls other than Miss Silly invited to the party (including Loodle), b) there was 6 colors that I was going to include in the tutu (who cares about indigo, right?) and c) tulle AND elastic were half off.  That meant that for a little under $4 per little lady I could make ridiculously girly, oh so cute take home gifts.  SOLD!

Want the full cuteness effect?  Of course you do – who wouldn’t?  Poor Miss Yellow was sick that afternoon but the other girls looked just scrumptious!

Miss Silly LOVED her tutu.  I went a wee bit overboard on the amount of tulle…really cute, but super puffy.  Oh well, my tutu motto (as of this tutu – my first;) – go big or go home!!!

I am planning to post a full wrap-up of her party but keep getting sucked into all these holiday crafts – between Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas there’s SO MUCH fun stuff to make, right?  So for now, I hope you liked the Rainbow of Tutus“.  The rest of the party will (hopefully) being showing up on here soon.  Please check out the Rainbow Kiddie Cocktails too – they were the surprise hit of the party!

To make the tutus I used the helpful sites listed below.  The tutorial is wonderful so I won’t reinvent the wheel!

NO SEW Tutu Tutorial by Ashley at Make It and Love It

Tutu FAQ (waist and length sizing) by Tutu Cute Boutique

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue Skies, Pumpkin Pies, and Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk, Gingerly Made, Diane Rambles, Western Warmth, Serenity You

18 thoughts on “A RAINBOW of Tutus

  1. Just stopping by from the Blissful & Domestic Link up! Honestly, those tutus are super cute! They would be perfect for a Halloween costume or little kids :)

    Just stopping by from the Blissful & Domestic Link up!

  2. How cute!! I bet you had some excited little girls! :) fair play to you for making one for each of them, I struggle with multiples! Once I’ve made one of something I get distracted by something else and never go back to make more!! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

  3. Pingback: Clean Enough!! {Free Printable} | If I had a million hours…

  4. Pingback: Rainbow Birthday Cake(s) | If I had a million hours…

  5. Pingback: Rainbow Wreath {An Upcycled Tutu} | If I had a million hours...

Leave a Reply

