Handprint Bookmarks

Do you ever start a project with one result in mind and end up with something COMPLETELY different??  This happens to me ALL THE TIME – mostly because I don’t pre-plan crafts much and, if I’m being honest, because I am a bit of a procrastinator.  Sometimes these tendencies work to my benefit though – I think this is one of those times:)

What was in my head for a take-home gift for Grandparents Day 2012?  Some sort of handprint wreath.  After diligently tracing and cutting out template hands I realized that this was a flop idea because:

  • The wreath concept didn’t work well with my kiddos three different sizes of handprints.
  • My parents don’t “do” home-made decor so this would have ended up in a drawer.   Other grandparents might keep them out/on display for a while but not indefinitely.
  • I was running out of time – I needed 4 total projects (2 families, 2 sets of grandparents each).   Cutting out the handprints for 4 wreaths would have taken more time then I had.

Bookmarks popped into my head because they are something that could be used over and over and are inexpensive to send to grandparents that are not close by.

With that background, here’s how I made them:

Total cost?  $0 – I used only materials I had in the house – YEAH!!

I think they turned out so cute.  I can imagine doing something like this for a cute birth announcement too!

I wish I’d thought of this when Loodle was born:)

So, what do you think??

Thanks for taking a look!

Blue skies & Blessings,

Lindsey

This project will be linked up to some (or all:) of these LINK PARTIES:

I {heart} Nap TimeImpatiently CraftyUnder the Table & DreamingI should be mopping the floorMaking the World CuterThe Trendy TreehouseSewing BarefootReasons to Skip the Housework Sun Scholars, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Funky Polka Dot Giraffe, Krafty Kat, Ginger Snap Crafts, Sugar & Dots, The Thrifty Home, Lil’ Luna, Th 36th Avenue, My Repurposed Life, A Creative Princess, Beyond the Picket FenceBe Different, Act Normal,  Classy Clutter, Flamingo Toes, Tater Tots & JelloToo Much Time on My Hands, Craft Envy, Blissful & Domestic, Cheerios & Lattes, Fine Craft Guild, The Dedicated House, C.R.A.F.T, Today’s Creative Blog, WTFab, Brassy Apple, DIY Home Sweet Home, Pin It Wednesday, Navy Wivey Peters, Fall into the Holidays (Horrific Knits), The Gingerbread Blog, One Creative Mommy, A Lived in Home, Sugar Bee Crafts, Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk

 

20 thoughts on “Handprint Bookmarks

    • Thanks Amy – much appreciated! Blogging with your sister must be soo fun…only a brother for me and I doubt I could get him to craft:)

  1. Cute and so sweet! I think this would make a sweet and unique gift for grandparents or for any occasion! Thanks for sharing at Gettin’ Krafty!

  2. Pingback: “GRANDPARENTS” – Weekly Theme #2 | If I had a million hours…

  3. Pingback: Footprint “Mistle Toes” Ornaments | If I had a million hours…

  4. Pingback: How to Make Handprint Bookmark

Leave a Reply

